Bilateral Agreement In Johor

On 21 July 2020, Dr Wee Ka Siong, Malaysia`s Minister of Transport, announced that a signing ceremony would be held on 30 July to conclude agreements between the two countries on the continuation of the RTS Link project, which will begin in January 2021 and end in 2026. Instead, the Mandai depot project will be transferred to Johor Bahru, with construction costs borne by Malaysia. [5] [40] In a Facebook post on Saturday, Khaw, Singapore`s transport minister, said that there had been active bilateral discussions since April on Malaysia`s proposed changes to the project. But the pace of bilateral talks has been influenced by several events, including the change of government in Malaysia and now the Covid 19 pandemic. The bilateral agreement was signed on Tuesday (January 16th) by Singapore`s Transport Minister and Infrastructure Democrat Khaw Boon Wan and Malaysian Minister in prime minister Abdul Rahman Dahlan` ministry. KUALA LUMPUR – Malaysian Transport Minister Wee Ka Siong announced Saturday (May 2nd) that the deadline for the bilateral agreement for the Johor Baru-Singapore Rapid Transit System (RTS) Link project has been extended by three months, until July 31. He said he had constantly discussed the state of the bilateral agreement with his Singaporean counterpart, Khaw Boon Wan. On 31 October 2019, Mahathir Mohamad, then Prime Minister of Malaysia, announced that the project would continue with a 36 per cent reduction in costs from RM 4.93 billion to RM 3.16 billion. Some of these proposals involve the inclusion of Developers/Owners of the Bukit Chagar Land in order to waive land costs; This will reduce costs and use a LRT (Light Rail Transit) system similar to the Ampang LRT line to reduce costs instead of MrT Thomson-East Coast pipeline systems. Prasarana will continue to be the partner of the RTS joint venture, which will work on the project with SMRT. Details are still being worked out for a future agreement. [36] [37] « The task is to conclude the three important agreements in a timely manner so that they can be signed by July 31, 2020, » MOT said.